Why you should Travel Even If you don't want to?

From the past six months or so I have been busy.

I got a job for which I wasn’t ready. I somehow took it as it was a big multinational company. I was proud of myself that I got a job there.

Three months into the job my accident happened. Nothing major, but it got me shit scared. Got a few bruises of my face, my left eye, just above it, two small pieces of glass were stuck inside for two days. I shivered in the middle of a dangerous of Mumbai looking up in the sky for the first time I realized a presence of God.

Anyways that accident got me wondering something about my life. I hadn’t written anything for all these months. I was working off a novel, “Dirty, Greedy, Bombay” but I wasn’t able to finish it. Because of the job.

That accident made me wonder about life. What if I keep working daily and do not work on my dreams? Live my life like that, what will I be leaving behind in this world?

I asked these questions to me every day. But I could not help myself come to discipline and write and read.

I November somehow I got this discipline and this commitment to my dreams to grind every day. But these past three-four months I have been 24/7 busy.

By writing a novel, working on my poetry collection, reading and writing more. I haven’t gotten time for myself.

But, I took an unexpected journey. I went to Meghalaya, and I spent nine days traveling.

I took a risk by going there, I didn’t inform my office, I didn’t tell anyone I’m going. Till the last moment, I wasn’t ready. But somehow I packed my bags and went on the train.

I learned a lot. I learned that I have been scared my life all along. I am scared of this job that isn’t even related to my career. I love writing but I am not willing to make it my full time thing. I have learned a lot of things about myself.

I came back two days ago, didn’t go to the office, sat at home. I have been thinking about the strategy ahead in life.

I question why we live the way we live?

Why do we put rules in our lives for ourselves?

Why do not we chase our dreams and live the life we want?

While travelling I didn’t get enough time to worry, or even think about something.

I was zip-lining through the tall lanky mountains. Sailing through India-Bangladesh border. Sleeping in the coldest weather in a camp, shivering. Crossing a river in the night with my travel group and feeling like an illegal immigrant.

Heard the loudest music in the silent way and silent in the loudest way. Driving through the dangerous curvaceous roads.

Living life, on the upside. Breathing in the cleanest air, and exploring India, or a part of India which is not yet explored.

I stopped giving a damn. I stopped worrying, I stopped thinking things through and did it. It was a much-needed trip. I was inside my head for a long time and it got me out of it. Gave me a break and uplifted me.

With open eyes, I know what I want in life, writing. I have to study for more two years. I also got to try my hand on stand up comedy. I will, I won’t stop.

But I won’t worry about the job which isn’t related to my career. I won’t worry about trivial things in life. I will live my life at the fullest, highest way possible and work towards my dream.

That’s why you should travel too.

Go out in your nearest place, take time out in weekends or every two-three months. Go out and explore, cultures, traditions, places, do adventures.

I am now thinking to make travel one of my priorities. I want to go to different places, try stuff off and live life on the edge. I hope I can do that.

People get stuck living the same life day in and out. Do the same things, there is no room left for rejuvenating soul. That might be the reason a lot of us are depressed.

A lot of us live in this rut and we have made this rut our everything. We must come out of it every once in a while, break the chains and look what the world has got to offer.

Cause when you see it you’ll know, your problems are smaller than you think. Your job is not everything, your job is not your career. Your life has bigger things to offer you, come out of the rut, of the shell of your comfort zone.

When you do that, you’ll see the world with a different perspective. The world is not black and white, or grey, as we see it in news and movies, or novels.

The world is colorful, filled with beauty yearning to be seen. You just need to open your eyes and see it yourself.

Leave a comment