How I Wrote, “Friendship, Love & Sacrifice”

Every day this year, I told to everyone and myself that I will become a writer and I became one. No matter if, I ever get to the top list of the Best-selling section, but I will still be writer. I can tell my friends and other people proudly that I am a writer. Well writing is good, you sit down and write your thoughts down for hours and hours and realize you have written a good piece of Art.

What if no one, reads it? What if no, one comes to know about it. What if your book, fades away? Well you have to figure a certain way out for that. I have not figured a way out of that and I feel worried, but all this process remains great to me.

I started writing this novel in March 2015 last year, and I wrote about 10 pages and stopped. I tried to find inspiration every day and write but nothing happened. I was keenly looking for inspiration and inspiration did not come. What was wrong? Was I getting wrong inspiration? Inspiration comes from desire and thinking out of the box. Practically, thinking of new ways, asking questions, and figuring things out. I did all this, I made my novel descriptive, and everything and nothing happened. Then I got a forward push in August. It was August 15, Independence Day. It was my holiday that day and I somehow reached amazon KDP website and I did not know what that was but I saw a headline of self-publishing your book and I was astonished. I researched about KDP more and more and read all the blog posts possible and I thought this was great. Three days of August went figuring out novel, time to write it and time to publish it. Then I continued writing, this time I did not need a board waving “Inspiration?” in my life. “No matter what happens, no matter I ever find any inspiration I have to write,” I told to myself and wrote, wrote and wrote. I read, wrote, edited, wrote, and re-wrote. Everything happened, I wrote more blog posts and read more books and wrote as many things possible, I wrote out ideas, I wrote out themes and plots and I even wrote my novel closest to its end. Then the time came. I was very close to what I have been trying to do for many days, writing a novel but my results came and my marks dropped badly. As it was board exams after three months and I was very close, it was very difficult for me to figure out what to do. Which, way to go, writing, studying, or, both? What happens if I choose anyone now and another later? I got confused and stopped writing and got back to studying, as I knew that whatever happens I would always remain a student, I like to study new concepts and explore more, more, and this time I was exploring something out of my stream of choice, so what. Let me just explore my own stream commerce and study for exams, for three months and then continue writing again. It did not go well, every day I woke up as if I had to do something that I did not want. No new inspiration, no new ideas, and it were nothing. I was happy but something was continuously going on in the back of my mind, it was telling me to, “write that novel” and I was fighting with it every day and tell that “I have to study”.

Three months gone and I did my exams well enough and then I started writing, on the day exams got finished I realized that I opened the document and stared for 5 minutes at the blank document. Then I remembered the whole story and told myself the same line something was telling me at the back of my head for 3 months, “write it” and I wrote it. I was awake until 2 am and wrote it fully. I cried when I made my character die in the end but I finally finished it. I gave myself a high five that night and I felt something inside me lifting up. A feeling you get when you finish something fully on your own, a feeling of joy and accomplishment. Then I wrote a few blog posts and I finally clicked the “publish and continue” button. In addition, I am a writer now who has a blog shaikhashrafwrites and is an author of “Friendship, Love & Sacrifice”

 

5 thoughts on “How I Wrote, “Friendship, Love & Sacrifice”

Leave a comment